About Team Hammer


The 2021 season marks Team Hammer’s 41st consecutive year of operating as a professional road racing team. Racebikes built and fielded by Team Hammer have won 122 AMA Pro and MotoAmerica National races, have finished on AMA Pro and MotoAmerica National podiums 323 times and have won nine AMA Pro and MotoAmerica National Championships, as well as two FIM South American Championships (in Superbike and Supersport.) The team has also won 137 endurance races overall (including seven 24-hour races) and 13 Overall WERA National Endurance Championships with Suzuki motorcycles, and holds the U.S. record for mileage covered in a 24-hour race. The team also competed in the televised 1990s Formula USA National Championship, famously running “Methanol Monster” GSX-R1100 Superbikes fueled by methanol, and won four F-USA Championships.

Racers Bruce Hammer and John Ulrich founded the team in 1980 and the two-man team grew to be one of the largest in the country, competing in the WERA National Endurance Series, the Formula USA Series, the WERA National Challenge Series and AMA Pro and MotoAmerica  SuperSport, Superbike and other classes under the direction of CEO John Ulrich, Vice President of Racing Operations Chris Ulrich, and Crew Chief/Technical Director Keith Perry.

cam peterston

Team Hammer Advanced Riding School

Chief Instructor: Michael Martin
Team Hammer Co-founders: Bruce Hammer, John Ulrich

2019 Team Roster

Team Captain/CEO: John Ulrich
Vice President, Operations/Talent Scout: Chris Ulrich
Crew Chief/General Manager: Keith Perry

Jake Lewis (#85 M4 ECSTAR Suzuki GSX-R1000 Superbike)
Bobby Fong (#50 M4 ECSTAR Suzuki GSX-R600 Supersport)

Supported Riders

Sean Dylan Kelly (#40 M4 ECSTAR Suzuki GSX-R600 Supersport)
Alex Dumas (#16 Roadracing World Young Guns Suzuki SV650 Twins Cup)
Joseph Blasius (#24 Autovest Suzuki SV650 Twins Cup)

Ben Fox (#85 Superbike)
Grant Singley (#85 Superbike)
Tony Pogue (#85 Superbike)
Frank Aragaki (#50 Supersport)
Jonathan Lay (#23 Supersport)


Rob Silva (#16 Twins Cup)
Alex Studelska (#40 Supersport)
Tim Anderson (#24 Twins Cup)
Thomas Davidson (#16 Twins Cup)

Dave Weaver (Electronics & Data Acquisition Technician)

Mike Himmelsbach (Ohlins Suspension Technician)

M4 ECSTAR Suzuki M4 ECSTAR Suzuki M4 Suzuki Road Racing Transporter